Saturday 03 December 2016 01:55:06 PHT


Southwest of Clarin town is the Municipality of Sagbayan which used to be a barrio made up of portions of Clarin, Inabanga, Carmen and Balilihan. By an Executive Order issued by the late Pres. Elpidio Quirino on Feb. 9, 1949 it was made into a municipality and was then first called Borja in honor of Salustiano Borja the first elected civil governor of the province of Bohol. Later the name was changed to its original name Sagbayan. As the story goes people used to hang (sagbay) hides of deers on trees to dry after hunting expeditions. So the place came to be known as Sagbayan, meaning a place for hanging. Sagbayan later became the center of trade of people from the interior and coastal towns. Here people bartered fish and other sea foods for rice and rootcrops. The principal industries of the town are farming, firecracker manufacturing, matweaving, basket weaving and bakya making.

Sagbayan at a glance
Population (2010): 20091
Population (2000): 18346
Number of households (2000): 3688
Land area: 9675 ha
Number of barangays: 24
Distance from Tagbilaran: 76 km

BarangayPopulation (2010)Population (2000)Households (2000)
Canmaya Centro13171070220
Canmaya Diot11611278240
Libertad Norte31625351
Libertad Sur18420143
Sagbayan Sur1011882168
San Agustin867711153
San Antonio852814147
San Isidro736674137
San Ramon40532978
San Roque42031664
San Vicente Norte715738130
San Vicente Sur29022950
Santa Catalina721626119
Santa Cruz985720142

(Based on figures from the census of 2000 and 2010 from NSO)