Tuesday 17 October 2017 17:29:03 PHT

Dumaluan Beach Resort

Add your own review of Dumaluan Beach Resort.

Average Visitor Rating

This is how 11 visitors rated Dumaluan Beach Resort:

Feature Visitor Rating Number of Ratings
Booking:Average 10
Arrival:Poor 10
Location:Average 10
Room:Poor 11
Facilities:Poor 10
Service:Poor 11
Staff:Poor 10
Cleanliness:Poor 11
Restaurant:Poor 10
Food:Poor 11
Bar:Poor 10
Price:Poor 10
Overall:Poor 11

Please note that these ratings are based on reviews made by self-selected visitors of this site.

What visitors say...

11 reviews found; reviews 1 to 8 are shown.

Grinmonster | Tuesday, 16 April 2013 | Rating: Very Poor

We were there for 2 nights and 3 days last week. The beach is pretty neat for swimming when the tide is high. We had a ball with Jet ski and banana boat. The food is very expensive but not tasty. They should hire a new chef. They have complimentary buffet breakfast but it sucks. Their staff are confused and lacked training, we arrived to checked in at 2pm but we were only allowed to enter our room by 4pm. We had an emergency at 1:30 a.m. since my wife cannot breathe so we need to go to a hospital but their staff is untrained to deal with it. There was no sense of urgency in her. She cannot call the hospital since they do not have emergency numbers, they do not have phone directory either. She told me they do not have a standby vehicle for emergency. Later she changed her statement, saying they have a stand by vehicle but has no driver. I asked if they have a medic, nurse or a doctor, they have none of it. So I had to run to the police station (about 600 meters from Dumaluan) to inquire if we could use the police car to bring my wife to a hospital in Tagbilaran. A few minutes later my friend called me in my phone to tell me that there was a doctor attending my wife in our room and there was a stand by vehicle. The doctor had an oxygen tank but was not working. So he recommend to send my wife to a hospital in Tagbilaran at around 2:30 a.m. and thankfully she received help there in Ramiro Hospital. The next day I found out that the medical doctor in Dumaluan beach that tried to help my wife was the owner himself. Remember that during the emergency the staff in the front desk said that there was no doctor available in their resort. So, if you want to go to Dumaluan, you better think twice. Their rooms need renovation. They have no phone service available in their rooms. So if you need something you have to go out. There was a strange warning in the room that said something like this, "Please do not leave your valuable things. The management is not responsible for any loss in your room." That's basically saying we can hire thieves but we are not accountable for that.

tina diaz | Wednesday, 19 September 2012 | Rating: Very Poor

This narration does not intend to take away what is beautiful about Bohol nor does it discredit the earnestness of select Boholanos. We also believe that everyone should be made aware of how DUMALUAN RESORT 2 and its owners treated their guests when things went wrong and how during this time, there was absolutely no attempt at customer relations.

We booked our stay at Dumaluan Beach Resort 2 from April 24-27, 2012 at Panglao Island, Bohol, run by Reichyl Dumaluan Vallente and her husband Chancel. On the morning before our afternoon flight back to Manila, our son and nephew rented the resort’s jet ski. On land they were fitted with life vests and given instructions on the entry and exit points, they were told not to ski between boats, to stay away from swimmers, give way to other boats and to stay outside of the white buoys. They were to keep within eyesight of Dumaluan for easier sighting in case of emergency. We learned later that our 15 year old son and 17 year old nephew, both minors, were made to sign a waiver before proceeding to the water. In the water, the person in charge strapped the Velcro around our son’s wrist which was attached to the jet ski’s key so that in case they fall off, the key would come off the ignition and stop the jet ski from running, and they would still have the key.

Our boys were allowed to ride together by the resort, they didn’t have any restriction against 2 persons riding without an authorized jet ski operator on board. So they left and my husband stayed on the shore to wait for them. He stood up when there was silence and he could no longer hear the drone of the jet ski’s engine. From afar he could see that the jet ski was now upside down and the boys were in the water. The most fortunate thing was that there was a small boat passing by and seeing them, quickly threw life jackets to them because apparently, our nephew’s life vest burst open and he started to go under water. The jet ski people, lifeguards and all, were all on shore, and sent out a jet ski to get them.

When our boys were brought to shore, they fearfully narrated that a strong wave hit them as they made a turn and caused them to topple over and for the jet ski to capsize. The key which was supposed to be strapped to our son’s wrist was no longer there. We were simply thankful that they were safe and for the timely presence of that small boat in their area. At this point, no one from the resort asked if the boys were okay or if they needed medical help. Nothing. They were busy checking on their jet ski.

Now upon checking out and settling our accommodations, my husband was told to see the owner because our check out was on hold. Chancel, the husband- owner turned out to be one of the jet ski people and he was demanding that we pay for the repair of the jet ski and the replacement of the key because it was an electronic kind. It became a husband and wife tandem at that point and these so-called resort owners dumped all the blame on the boys for what happened. Their basis:

1. The key shouldn’t have gotten lost because it was strapped to our son’s wrist. OUR QUESTION WAS, WHO STRAPPED THE VELCRO TO OUR SON’S WRIST? WAS IT TIGHT ENOUGH? DID HE MAKE SURE THAT IT WAS SECURELY IN PLACE? WHO WAS IN A BETTER POSITION TO KNOW IF THE VELCRO WOULD HOLD? OUR SON KNEW BETTER THAN TO MEDDLE WITH THE PERSON AS HE LET HIM STRAP THE VELCRO KNOWING THAT HE WAS TRAINED TO DO THAT. WHO THEN HAS THE SOLE RESPONSIBILITY TO CHECK AND DETERMINE THAT THE KEY WAS SECURE? AND WHAT OF OUR NEPHEW’S LIFE VEST THAT BURST OPEN AND CAUSED HIM TO ALMOST DROWN IF NOT FOR OUR SON REACHING FOR HIM AND THE BOATMAN BEING THERE TO HELP THEM? WHO FITTED HIM WITH THIS DEFECTIVE LIFE VEST?

2. In the history of the resort, it was only now that their jet ski capsized, putting the blame squarely on the boys. BEING IN THE JET SKI BUSINESS MEANS THEY SHOULD BE AWARE OF THE RISKS INVOLVED AND THAT ACCIDENTS CAN HAPPEN. IN FACT THEY SHOULD HAVE THE PROPER INSURANCE FOR THIS. THE QUESTION IS, DO THEY? WHETHER OR NOT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT IT HAPPENED IS IRRELEVANT AS THEY SHOULD BE PREPARED FOR ANYTHING, AND CERTAINLY BEING THE FIRST TIME DOES NOT PROVIDE THE CONCLUSION THAT IT WAS THE FAULT OF OUR BOYS.

3. The boys made a “power turn” which they shouldn’t have, thus causing them to topple over. CHANCEL, THE OWNER HUSBAND INSISTED THAT THE BOYS MADE A POWER TURN. WHAT, IN THE FIRST PLACE CONSTITUTES A POWER TURN? DID HE EVEN WITNESS THEM DO THIS BECAUSE AS FAR AS WE KNOW, THEY WERE A SECOND TOO LATE IN COMING TO OUR BOYS' RESCUE. WERE THE BOYS BRIEFED ABOUT THIS? WERE THEY GIVEN LESSONS ON PROPER JET SKIING? NO, THEY WERE SIMPLY LET LOOSE AFTER THE INITIAL INSTRUCTIONS. WE DIDN’T INSIST THAT THEY RIDE TOGETHER, THEY JUST LET THEM. IF THEY WERE STRICT ABOUT IT, THEY COULD HAVE TOLD US THAT THERE HAD TO BE AN INSTRUCTOR RIDING AT ALL TIMES AND WE WOULD HAVE COMPLIED RIGHT AWAY. AGAIN, WHO WAS IN A BETTER POSITION TO LAY DOWN THE RULES, AND EXPLAIN BEFOREHAND SUCH A TERM AS ‘POWER TURN”? WHO HAS THE SOLE RESPONSIBILITY TO DO THIS?

These owners, Reichyl and Chancel Vallente of Dumaluan Resort 2, heaped all the blame on the boys without once acknowledging that their own actions and lack thereof were actually the starting point that propelled this terrible accident to unfold, our boys’ inexperience simply completed the scenario. It could have happened to anyone. They were in fact the traumatized victims of the resort owners’ negligence. And yet all that the owners could let loose from their mouths was that we should shoulder the cost of their jet ski’s repair. Did they do this amicably? NO. Did they conduct themselves in a manner becoming of resort owners? NO. Did they put a premium on the welfare of their guests? NO! We fell into a heated argument which was so surreal knowing that these were the resort owners we were dealing with, where in the world can you witness such gross behaviour from the owners themselves?

They called in a policeman whom they were very chummy with to blotter the event, but who simply mediated for the owners. We would have been willing to share a small amount as a token of our participation in the accident, if they had owned up to their responsibility but they NEVER DID AND NEVER SHOWED CONCERN FOR OUR BOYS. But because we had a plane to catch, we were forced to leave with them 5K as a holding fee.

This is not the end of it yet, but surely the world has the right to learn about this terrible incident before they prey on another victim.

If this doesn’t deter you, then maybe our room service experience will give you another look at how these owners operate their resort:

- no housekeeping (daily changing of towels and linens), only after repeated requests and only on the THIRD DAY did they finally give in to our request to sweep, clean and change linens

- there was no drinking water available in the room and even in the restaurant, you had to buy your own even during mealtimes at the restaurant

- no servicing the broken ceiling light in the room. They didn't bother at all to replace it even after repeatedly informing and requesting them to change the busted bulb. We were in the dark at night.

- no provision for cup and saucer in the room, they made us pay a deposit before we were provided a simple thermos of hot water and cups, no saucers or teaspoons included

- unsanitary room, after the initial air freshener dissipated, our room was permeated with a foul nauseating smell coming from their septic tank. We had to ask to be transferred as they acknowledged that the smell did emanate from their septic tank.

MICHELLE L. PROMENTILA | Wednesday, 1 August 2012 | Rating: Poor

Very POOR Service especially the Front Desk Officers.

tin perante | Sunday, 24 June 2012 | Rating: Good

verdict: between very good and excellent! before i booked this resort's 3d/2n package tour, i was hesitant kasi close fight ang positive and negative reviews. i have been to bohol before but we booked at alona beach. for this recent trip though, i wanted to try the bolod beach (where dumaluan beach resort is located) because the reviews say that the beach here is more suited for swimming than that of alona's and not as crowded as the latter. and, the famous bohol beach club is its neighbor. i compared around four packages and the this resort's package included free entrance fees to the tour sites including the loboc river cruise buffet lunch. others don't. hence, i booked anyway for june 19-21, 2012 at P3,850 per pax, quad sharing, superior de luxe aircon with not much but just enough expectations. there were four adults and one child. the child was free. initially, there was the issue of the transfer from tubigon pier to the resort. we took the manila-cebu air trip not the direct air trip to tagbilaran. hence, we had to take the fast ferry ride from cebu city to tubigon pier, bohol. ferry fare is around P300 per pax. half price for my pamangkin. i didn't know that the free transfer is within tagbilaran city only. transfer from outside tagbiliran city would cost additional P1,200 on top of the package rate. i negotiated with the manager and thankfully, she agreed to forego of the additional charge since we would be taking the day tour immediately from the pier then check in at the resort in the afternoon. issue solved. 1st day. we took the 8:30am ferry trip from cebu to tubigon. we arrived at tubigon 3o minutes later than expected at around 10:00am since we had a late start. thankfully, the friendly driver/guide patiently waited for about two hours. and we had the van all by ourselves. a good first impression. i knew then that we would have a blast. the land day tour was fantastic. you could forego some of the sites and stop at other sites as long as these are within the route. just instruct the driver/guide. on our way to the resort, the driver/guide stopped at a mini-grocery. he advised us to buy the things that we might still need since we may buy them at the resort but at a higher cost. we bought gallons of water and pairs of slippers. upon checking in at the hotel, we were immediately ushered to our room. a great sigh of relief since i read one review that they waited for hours before being checked in. i understood why. we booked before the trip. they walked in. the room was decent an clean. beds and towels for our number were already prepared. and clothesline was placed at the porch of the room. our room was just beside the pools - kiddie and adult pools. i loved the adult pool as it had an 8ft portion! now the food. okay, foods at the resort resto were a bit pricey. fortunately, we discovered the next night an ihawan over the bakod. foods were great and much cheaper than those of the resort resto. so, dining is not really a problem since you could just go over the bakod for cheaper and more options. so, on our first night, we dined at the resort resto. foods were just okay but the servers were great and the service too. what compensated to the pricey foods though was the band playing. twas fantastic. they played classics and alternative acoustics. we dined. hanged out for a while at the beach. swam at the pool then hit the sack. 2nd day. the sea tour. breakfasts were free. part of the package. oh well, the buffet breakfast had few food offerings. but twas just fine. twas unlimited anyway. other packages don't offer free breakfasts. the beach. amazing. it could compete with boracay. white sands and true enough, beach was perfect for swimming. the fine white sands and the depth. we were scheduled for a 6:00 dolphin watching then snorkeling at the fish sanctuary near balicasag island. we had breakfast at a quarter before six. buti na lang, the famiy na ka-share namin sa boat had a late start too. hence, maski we finished breakfast at past 6 na, the boatmen waited for us. fine weather so the dolphins showed up. they did their job well. just being there and playing around. after almost an hour of dolphin watching, we headed to balicasag island. we landed at the shelly part ng island. white sand still but shelly. the trip i had before, doon kami sa bandang fine ang sands and amenities were great including a resto, open cottages and shower rooms. i asked the bangkero why we didn't land at said area. which area to land pala depends sa direction ng hanging habagat. windy that time at the area that i asked. hence, doon kami sa shelly part. no shower rooms. no resto. but there were wooden tables and seats shaded with trees. ang CR, makikisuyo ka don sa malapit na house for P10. these barrio scenes may add to the fun ng tour. we headed off to snorkel at the fish sanctuary. two of us left for snorkeling while my parents and pamangkin, naiwan sa island. we transferred in a much smaller boat papuntang fish sanctuary. hindi kasama this boat transfer sa package so we paid P150 per pax. okay na din. ung wet shoes, DO NOT rent. you wouldn't need those sa sanctuary kasi hindi naman aapak sa corals eh. kaso, we rented. sayang. P150 per pair din. i forgot we didn't need those noong una kong trip. the bangkero told us not to bring things na hindi puede mabasa. so we left our things kina parents sa island but we brought our camera. ayon, it got soaked sa tubig alat. we should have heeded manong bangkero's advice! or, you could bring one basta sa ziploc nakalagay. good thing the camera still worked after it dried. snorkeling. ang saya. andaming isda. natural, fish sanctuary nga eh! magdala ng pang-feed sa fish. i would advice sky flakes. or any food na nakapacket. ang ginawa ko, i broke into pieces the sky flakes then placed sa iisang plastic. bad idea. minsanan lang namin naipakain kasi nasoak na agad sa tubig upon diving out sa boat. kalurky! okayer pag per packet so that pede pakain pakonte konte. after almost an hour ng snorkeling, we headed back sa island. good thing my mom nagpaluto na ng lunch just before we left. ready na ang lunch when we get back. for those walang kasamang maiiwan sa island, magpaluto na ng foods before leaving for snorkeling para ready na pagbalik ang lunch. just bring enough cash for lunch. water too. if you want to bring wallets and cameras and phones, place them in a ziploc. lunch was more than okay. medyo mahal considering that hindi naman resto but sulit na din kasi masarap naman. we paid around P1,000.00 for dalawang inihaw ng medium-sized na isda (diko alam ang name), one medium-sized lapu-lapu na isinigang, one medium-sized grilled squid and four cups of rice. for 4 adults and a child, somobra pa.just after lunch, we headed back to the resort. when we got back sa resort, the water was so inviting that we dove in maski na mr. sun was full blast. ang sarap ng tubig eh. if you want to enjoy swimming, do it before 4pm. kasi after that, low tide na. umuurong ang tubig. lumayo ng around 15 meters sa normal shore plus, hindi na white sand ang lalanguyan tapos macorals na. dinner. we had dinner sa kabilang bakod. ang sarap ng shake nila at P50 per glass lang. the foods were superb altho mas konti ang servings compared sa resto ng resort, in fairness sa resort, madami naman kasi ang servings nila kaya mahal plus may banda. sa over the bakod ihawan, may blind man na umiikot kumakanta per table. after dinner, lipat ulit kami sa resort. my mom and and pamangkin headed sa room. my mom wouldn't want to miss her precious teleserye. yes, a cable tv was provided in the room. my dad got a glass ng san mig then sipped it along the beach. ako naman and the other adult, we hanged out lang sa hammock ng resort near the beach while the band was playing. purfect last night sa bohol since we would be heading back to cebu the next day. the next day, the driver was on time paghatid sa pier. i arranged na the transfer the night before. he was ready 6:00am pa lang. kaso, we ran a little bit late kasi my pamangkin took his sweet time having breakfast. so around 6:15am na kami nakaalis. same arrangement, we had the van all by ourselves. we agreed that at tagbilaran port na kami ihahatid para wala nang additional cost. it was just fine kasi we took the weesam. it was a finer sea transport compared to the ferries via tubigon. twice as costly ang biyahe and twice longer but much more comfortable. for the first class, we paid P600 per pax exclusive pa of the 20% senior citizen discount for my parents. my pamangkin was free of charge. good thing there were not a lot of passengers sa first class cabin. hence, my pamangkin was seated. maybe because twas off peak season. peak season might have a different kuwento. one could also opt for ocean jet or super cat. weesam is similar to ocean jet but the latter is bigger and mas mahal by P200 ang fare. the supercat is a yacht type sea transport so mas mahal by P400 ang fare. all fares mentioned refer to first class. so there, we left tagbilaran pier via weesam at around 7:00am and arrived safely at cebu city pier 4 few minutes before 9:00am where our sundo was waiting. so, all in all, i would rate the resort between very good and excellent. i think the success of this tour we had was the prior coordination and negotiations beforehand. should i feel to travel to bohol again, i would definitely consider staying at dumaluan beach resort. ciao!

Dr.Josephine Ferrer | Saturday, 26 May 2012 | Rating: Poor

I agree with all the previous bad reviews.We arranged for a land transfer from airport to their hotel, and I talked personally to their staff named Julie but on our arrival no one fetch us at the airport. We have to talked to a private transpo car so we can reach the hotel. When I asked for julie at the hotel, they said she was off duty. We stayed for 4days and no apology from any staff came. They have poor customer service, The staffs are untrained,uncaring and not helpful. the food is overpriced. The breakfast is limited to an egg menu,1 viand, and 1 sauteed vegetable. The place itself is nice because of the beautiful beachfront but service is poor. I think your money is not worth it to stay in this place, There are many hotels in bohol that is reasonably price but customer service is much better. There are many bad reviews in this hotel already but the management seemed not interested to correct them. I think customer will not spend time and effort just to make bad review but they do it because they felt that the money they spend was not worth it.

jah | Monday, 20 June 2011 | Rating: Poor

We had a 5-day stay at Bohol as a vacation idea from my father who was in pinas that year. We first stayed at Bohol tropics. At the first hotel, the food,rooms and service was great. The place was amazing. On our 3rd day we decided to go dolphin-watching at Panglao island. On our way there we were informed by the driver that the cheapest or most affordable place to stay is in Dumaluan beach resort. We arrived at the resort at around 10am. When we approached the front desk clerk,she said that there is no vacant room that is good for 5, where we could stay. We insisted to wait since we were already there and we were hoping that there may be a room available for us after a few hours.Fortunately,there was. A suite (as they call it), good for 4-5 persons. The room didn't have enough rugs. There is only 1 towel provided. During dinner we decided to order food. Our jaws dropped when we saw the prices. Pork belly is a hundred plus. Coconut juice is 60 php. Here's more. We already have our softdrinks that were bought from a mall. The crew saw it and he said that if we are going to bring any food or drinks on their cottages we have to pay a corkage fee. My father insisted that we should not be paying any other fees since we are staying at their resort. The crew said that we really have to buy the drinks from them becaue that is their policy.ha!really?so where should we put our 4 bottles of 1.5 drinks?.how absurd!my father was pissed off so she went to the front desk clerk and said "nganung pabayron man mi ninyo para sa drinks ra? Unsa may gusto ninyo. Amo ihurot ug yabo ang 4 ka bottles sa inu atubangan nya mopalit sa inung drinks nga hawd ka mahal?? Asa inung manager? After speaking with the manager, they then agreed that we can drink what we already bought. Da! The airconditioning unit does'nt even cool the entire room. Anyway, checking out seemed to be very difficult and delayed. We informed the clerk that we want to check out around 9am. It took 2 hours for them to accommodate us and provide us our bill. An experience I believe I would never want to have again, though we enjoyed the beach.

ben freeny | Saturday, 7 May 2011 | Rating: Good

Its nice, Id go back. Its restraunt had very nice food,and had very nice live music,nice pool.

Christian Reyes | Tuesday, 2 February 2010 | Rating: Average

Me and my friends enjoyed our stay but it was because we never really stayed that much in the resort. The location is by the beach, which makes it good enough. The swimming pool is ok. But the food was so expensive and they are very stingy. We ordered halo-halo and the serving was big, however, the mango (yup, mango in halo-halo), which was about 40% of the dessert was so sour! Not enjoyable at all. The expensive meals are not worth the price at all, so we had to go to a nearby place to eat. The food there was a lot cheaper and at the same time, tastes so much better.