Bared... 2009 Mr. and Miss UB Personality proclaimed

Tagbilaran, Monday, 28 September 2009 04:58:28

The next night, my friends and I were at the University of Bohol to witness the crowning of the new Mr and Miss University of Bohol Personality, one of the highlights of the recent celebration of UB Days and Intramurals who will both be the university's Ambassadors of Goodwill and official representatives to inter-school student activities for the coming school year. I always make it sure that when September comes and I am in Bohol part of my schedule is to watch the oldest campus pageant in the province.

Mark Johnuel Duavis and Guldamer Malou Sombrio from the
Nursing department were proclaimed
Mr. and Ms. UB Personality 2009.

The audience, composed mostly of students, once again thrilled to the glittering stage, sounds, and of course, the candidates getting the biggest applause. The skies were sick and the unforgiving rains didn't dampen the UBian spirit--that is rain or shine, the show must continue.

The Mister and Miss UB Personality titles have been won by Nursing department of UB, also the department's third victory in a row for Mr. UB on Thursday evening. Chosen as the best from among an equally good-looking group of 8 male and 10 female finalists were: Mark Johnuel Duavis, as Mr. UB 2009, an 18-year-old, junior Nursing who is also the first runner-up of Mister and Miss Teen Bohol 2009. His female counterpart is Guldamer Malou Sombrio, Ms. UB 2009, an 18-year-old, junior Nursing student, and is also Miss Loon 2008, Ms. Bohol International third runner-up, and finalist in Miss Bohol Sandugo 2009 and Mr. and Miss Teen Bohol 2009.

Here are interesting trivia and anecdotes about the UB Queen and Mr and Miss UB Personality:

Mother and daughter in UB Queen/Miss UB: Lumin Tirol-Pamaran and Nomi "Libya" Pamaran-Caņuto.

For old time's sake, here's the dossier of UB Queens and Mr. and Miss UB Personality:

The UB Queens were: Miss Purisima Veloso (1946), Miss Alejandra Tan (1947), Miss Basilisa Lim (1948), Miss Patricia Yap (1949), Miss Natividad Lim (1950), Miss Helenita Ecuacion (1951), Miss Alberta Real (1951), Miss Gloria Tirol (1952), Miss Marina Galeon (1953),Miss Sulpicia Gallares (1954), Miss Aquilina Pines (1955), Miss Fidela The (1956), Miss Esperanza Loquellano (1957), Miss Diosdada Jabines (1958), Miss Providencia Pondoc (1959), Miss Venus Castillo (1960), Miss Francisca Naparan (1961), Miss Alberta Co (1962), Miss Conchita Tan (1963), Miss Emma Kapirig (1964), Miss Remedio Gasang (1965), Miss Carmelita Gallo (1966), Miss Lumin B. Tirol (1967), Miss Amelia Enriquez (1968), Miss Catalina Pamatong (1969), Miss Zenit Cabalit (1970) and Miss Nimfa Butalis (1971).

Victor de Castro Jr became Mr. UB Personality of 2003 with
Michelle Palaca (back) as Miss UB Personality of 2003.

The Miss UB Personality winners were: Miss Margaret Gulle (1973), Miss Eufronia Dospueblos (1974), Miss Marilyn Blanco (1975), Miss Yolanda Cabido (1976), Miss Paterna Dolotina (1977), Miss Emelinda Castrodes (1978), Miss Ma. Louella Magallano (1979), Miss Phoebe Baquial (1980), Miss Amida T. Gallito (1981), Miss Antoniette Miņoza (1981), Miss Nicanora Cagaanan (1982), Miss Maribel Quimson (1983), Miss Annabelle Ricafort (1984), Miss Julie Ann Vaņo (1985), Miss Haidee Abad (1986), Miss Niņa Socorro Gingo (1987), Miss Marissa Ladera (1988), Miss Ma. Bella Granada (1989), Miss Lucille Vallestero (1990), Miss Nomi T. Pamaran (1991), Miss Mutya Cabangbang (1992), Miss Edralyne Seth Belarmino (1993), Miss Mary Ann Apat (1994), Miss Chan Cajegas (1995), Miss Maria Fatima Hencianos (1996), Miss Frances Juliet Saletrero (1997), Miss Marian Daphne Lupot (1998), Miss Cristal Anne Lim (2000-February), Miss Suzette Vaņo (2000-September), Miss Roxannie Castro (2001), Miss Layell Mae Cartegenas (2002), Miss Michelle Palaca (2003), Miss Daphne Jane Cajegas (2004), Miss Loida Tessa Lagonoy (2005), Miss Ann Crusit (2006), Miss Annie Wachsmuth (2007) and Miss Mylene Pedroso (2008).

The Mr. UB Personality were: Mr. Luisito Ytol (1985), Mr. Teodoro Bueno (1986), no search in 1987, Mr. Raymond Dolotina (1988), Mr. Chito Fama (1989), Mr. Ruben Alturas (1990), Mr. Roy Samante (1991), Mr. Rodulfo Antonio Gapas (1992), Mr. Victor Tirol, Jr. (1993), Mr. Rene Samonte (1994), Mr. Mark Bebson D. Apat (1995), Mr. Urwin T. Lagunay (1996), Mr. Michael Lim (1997), Mr. Rex Gamiel Varquez (1998), Mr. Moses Mari Lacierda (2000- February), Mr. Niņo Bompat (2000- September), Mr. Jasson Mascariņas (2001), Mr. Michael John Gonzales (2002), Mr. Victor de Castro Jr (2003), Mr. Raulph Anthony Molina (2004), Mr. Marvin John Auguis (2005), Mr. Jeferson Maliza (2006), Mr. Rolf Roland Reyes (2007) and Mr. Carlo Roy Roslinda (2008).


Leo P. Udtohan